Messi and Rapinoe win main individual gongs at Best FIFA Football Awards 2019

Lionel Messi (pictured above) beat Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the best men’s player award at the Best FIFA awards at La Scala in Milan tonight.

It is the sixth time the 32-year-old has scooped the award, moving him one ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo, with the Portuguese not showing up for the awards ceremony.

The duo have dominated the award since 2008, with their string of victories only interrupted by Luka Modric last year.

The men’s team of the year meanwhile was voted as follows:

FIFPRO Men’s World XI:
Alison Becker (Brazil, Liverpool); Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands, Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool) and Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid); Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands, Ajax) and Eden Hazard (Belgium, Real Madrid); Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus).

Thousands of footballers from across the world participated in the vote organized by world player’s union FIFPro.

Megan Rapinoe attends the Best FIFA Football Awards 2019Megan Rapinoe (pictured above) was named the Best FIFA Women’s Player ahead of USA team-mate Alex Morgan and England’s Lucy Bronze.

Rapinoe, aged 34, won the Golden Boot for most goals and Golden Ball for best player at the Women’s World Cup this summer after helping the USA win the tournament with six goals and three assists.

FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World XI: Sari van Veenendaal, Lucy Bronze, Wendie Renard, Nilla Fischer, Kelly O’Hara, Amandine Henry, Julie Ertz, Marta, Rose Lavelle, Megan Rapinoe and Alex Morgan.

United States Women’s manager Jill Ellis won the FIFA FIFPRO Coach of the Year having won her second World Cup with her country this summer.

Eighteen-year-old Daniel Zsori won the Puskas award for the best goal with his spectacular 93rd-minute overhead kick for Debrecen against Ferencvaros (video below), just after he came on as a substitute for his Hungarian league debut in February.

His strike beat Messi’s chip from the edge of the penalty area against Real Betis and Juan Quintero’s powerful 30-yard free-kick for River Plate against Racing Club.

Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United won the Fair Play Award when he instructed his players to allow Aston Villa to score against them immediately after his team had scored when it was assumed play would be stopped due to a Villa player being down injured for some time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s